Lineup announced for city Memorial Day parade

MAY 27, 2018
The annual Memorial Day service and parade will be Monday at Memorial Park in Dunkirk. Services will start at 10 a.m., the parade will follow at approximately 11 a.m.

The Parade will turn on to Central Avenue and proceed south to Fifth Street. The Parade turns East on Fifth Street and disbands at Washington Park.

In case of inclement weather the parade will be canceled.

Should the inclement weather continue, Memorial Day Services will be at the John T. Murray VFW Post 1017, 111-113 Deer St. Dunkirk .

This year’s Parade Marshal is Jack Sievert Commander, D.J.V.C.

The 2018 Co-Parade Marshals are: Richard Makuch, Michael McGrath, Dennis Mulkin and David Dow.

The 2018 Memorial Day Parade Captain is Jack Hood.

The Division Marshals are 1st Division TBA, Michael McGrath, Thomas Haynes and Fire Chief Michael Edwards.

1st Division Marshal – TBA

2nd Division Marshal – Michael McGrath Commander VFW post 1017.

3rd Division Marshal – Mr. Thomas Haynes, D.J.V.C. Trustee and Sgt.-at-Arms.

4th Division Marshal – Mr. Michael Edwards, City of Dunkirk Fire Chief.

The public is invited to attend and the Dunkirk Joint Veterans Council urges the public to fly the Flag this Memorial Day. God bless our veterans and this great nation of ours.

Division Line-Ups are as follows:

City Official – Honorable Mayor Willie Rosas

City Official – Mr. David Ortolano, Police Chief lined up on Lake Shore Drive West.

Followed by Dunkirk Joint Veterans Council Honor Guard, Mr. David Huels, D.J.V.C. Honor Guard. Liaison Officer and Trustee;

Mr. Tom Rugani; D.J.V.C. Honor Guard;

Mr. Ronnie Rollins D.J.V.C. Honor Guard;

Mr. Kenneth DeLong, Armorer D.J.V.C.

Followed by: Cars:

Parade Marshal: Mr. Jack Sievert, commander D.J.V.C. Parade Co-Marshal Richard Makuch, D.J.V.C.,Asst. H.G. Cdr. Parade Co-Marshal David Taber, D.J.V.C. Asst. H.G. Cdr. Escorted by Rhonda Daminski, VFW Past President 1017 Auxiliary.

Followed by Grand Marshals Anthony Spann and Ray Davis Jr. escorted by Carol Hood D.O.D. (Ret.)

Master of Ceremonies, Mr. John D’Agostino, D.J.V.C. and Publisher OBSERVER.

Lt. Christopher Wilson, USCG Sea Partners

Limousine carrying city officials.

Followed by:

1st Division — Forms on Pelican Street at Lake Shore Drive West.

Those marching in the 1st Division report to David Dow for instructions on who to follow.

All Veterans Honor Guard Led by James Lemanski, Cdr. American Legion Post 62

Officers and Veterans from WWII, Korean War, Vietnam, Cold War, Global War on Terror, including Iraq and Afghanistan will be part of the All Veterans Honor Guard.

Flag Review: Elks, BPO 922 Dunkirk, N.Y. Flag Review.

Hamburg Kingsman Drum and Bugle Corp, led by Mr. Leon Trzewieczynski.

City of Dunkirk Fire Chief Mike Edwards, Professional Fire Fighters Local 616.

Greater Buffalo Firefighter Pipe & Drum

Veterans Requiring Transportation:

C.A.R.T.S. Buses will begin loading Veterans at approximately 10:45 a.m. C.A.R.T.S. has been graciously arranged by Mr. Cory Leymeister Resource Assistant.

D.A.V.: In Cars or C.A.R.T.S.

Mr. Leroy Foster – U.S.A.F. Veteran (Ret.)

Mrs. Ruthann Foster

World War II restored Willie’s Jeep driven by Craig Sutton with passenger Lynn Watrous, Korean War veteran serving in the Army, and great-grandson Connor Sutton of Fredonia.

WWII Veterans in Cars or C.A.R.T.S.

Korean War Veterans: In Cars or C.A.R.T.S.

Vietnam Veterans: In Cars or C.A.R.T.S.

Club 716 Street Rods Custom Cars

U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary Dunkirk Flotilla 34 Dunkirk, N.Y. Mr. Doug Hamernick, Commander.

Dunkirk Little League, T-ball led by Gary Haase, President.

Dunkirk J.R.O.T.C, Led by SFC Frank Torrain, U.S Army(Ret.)

2nd Division Parade: Co-Parade Marshal Michael McGrath D.J.V.C.

Forms on: Swan Street at Lake Shore Drive West.

Those marching in the 2nd- Division report to Dave Taber for instructions on who to follow:

North Coast Brass Co. Musicians Thomas Davenport director.

Girl Scouts of America: Donna Banach Advisor, Girl Scouts Troop 20158.

Girl Scouts of America: Led by Kathy Reisenweber Advisor Troup 20237

Chautauqua Hurricane: Led by Nancy Rosario.

Dunkirk Middle School Band: led by director Mary Brock.

3rd Division Parade Marshal – Mr. Thomas Haynes, D.J.V.C. Trustee and Council Sgt-at-Arms

Forms on: Dove Street at Lake Shore Drive West

LoGuidice Education Criminal Justice Program, Led by Jennie Alessi, Teacher.

Iglesias Getsemani Children’s Ministries children and Float

Upward Bound Program, Patricia Messina Program Coordinator; Loretta Torain, Director

Dunkirk Fredonia Meals On Wheels Van

Western N.Y. Alumni Drum & Bugle Corps: led by Mr. Jack Kujawa.

4th Division Parade Marshal Mr. Michael Edwards, Fire Chief City of Dunkirk.

Forms on: Plover Street at Lake Shore Drive West

Dunkirk City of Fire Trucks

East Town of Dunkirk Fire Dept.

West Town of Dunkirk fire Dept.

Fredonia Fire Dept.

Dunkirk Police Car

Pillar of Fire Fellowship – Pastor J. Wentz.